At The Moment I Am Happy

On alternate Wednesdays and Mondays I go to a knitting group at the main library in Basingstoke. Except that it isn’t a library. It’s “Basingstoke Discovery Centre” and it’s changed an awful lot since I last lived in town. It’s bright, wide open, airy. Painted white with splashes of bright pink and orange and blue and green. And there are quotes.

From my seat at this knitting group I can see the wall by the children’s section. It looks like this…

20120910-075532.jpg

All through the session my eye was drawn to one particular quote.

20120910-075617.jpg

I had to go up closer to get that picture after knitting was over. I hadn’t seen from where I was sat that they were quotes from children, but I don’t think that really changes anything.

I was sat there knitting away (Tunisian crocheting actually, but I’m not one to be pedantic), amongst this group of strangers who had accepted me and welcomed me. I was chatting away quite happily, occasionally humming to myself. And every time I looked up that quote was right in my line of sight.

At the moment I am happy.

And the more I looked at it, the more I realised it was true. At that moment, I was happy. And then I had my most profound thought of the day.

That was all I needed. I don’t need to worry about what the future holds so much, or about what happened in the past. All that matters is now. At the moment. If I’m happy at the moment, surely that means I’m doing okay.

So, profound thinking. Thank you Molly.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

