Travel Blog Archive: The Friends You Make… 2/6/12

I’ve been planning and researching this trip for just one or two months, and I’ve already made a few friends who have the potential to be quite good one, and whom I plan on doing what I can to meet up with on the trip.

The first is one of the first people who commented on the blog.  Her name is Jackie and she’s given me some great advice already.  She can be found on Twitter as @thatsjackstoyou.  She lives in Ontario, Canada, so I’m not sure if it’ll be possible to meet up with her, unless she fancies a trip to Niagara Falls.

The second is actually somebody who I kind of knew already.  She’s on Ravelry (a knitting and crcchet community) like me, and she has been testing some patterns that I’ve been designing.  It turns out that she lives in Albuquerque, and now she’s answering some questions for me, so I can write up an “Interview with a Local” for this blog.  Hopefully she’s going to give me a tour of her city when I’m there.

The third is a brave lady called Kristi, who gave up her corporate job of many years to start and run a food tour business in Charlotte, North Carolina.  I messaged her website, Feast Food Tours, because I was curious about any tours run on a Thursday (when  I’ll be there) and we’ve been conversing via email.  She offers some delicious looking tours, so make sure you take a look at her site.  Hopefully I’m going to be able to convince her to lead me on my own private little tour while I’m there… or at least meet me for a drink.

This is only the beginning.  Over the next year or so of planning I hope to make many more friends, whether they can meet up with me or not.  When I have a more confirmed date, I’ll be deliberately looking for people to meet with.  It’s going to be a long trip, and although I’m bound to meet people on the way, I’m sure I’ll get bouts of loneliness at times.  Having plans to meet friends will help with that.  Not to mention my secret plans to wrangle a good home-cooked meal or two.

If you live anywhere on my route, or are willing to travel to one of the cities, please please get in touch!  My theory is that you can never have too many friends.  And as somebody who doesn’t actually have very many right now, I believe that even more strongly.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

