…And this is 2013

It’s a new year! And I’m still sick 😦 I’m getting better though, so I’m not too worried about it. I’m trying more to focus on my plans for this year.

Firstly the never ending resolution – lose some weight. Everyone thought I’d lose weight just from moving down here to Basingstoke. I was eating less, and better, and moving more. And although I didn’t lose weight I have got fitter. But the last couple of months of the year were mired in depression and therefore eating. I’m not going to diet, because that’s a stupid word for a stupid idea. I’m just going to eat less and get out more.

Getting out more isn’t just a weight loss idea. I started to get a social life when I first moved, and then it went away. I want it back! I have a few regular clubs and things, and I’m gonna find some more, maybe set one or two up. Make some more friends, have more of a life. Take the dog for walks, just ride the bus and see where it takes me, things like that.

Crafting needs to take a bit of a backseat. I’m not giving it up… That would be stupid. But I want to focus more on my writing. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it but my writing teacher thinks I should do a degree in writing. I told her about my financial concerns and lack of student loan availability and she thinks I could apply for sponsorships and grants. So the plan for this year is to write much more, and enter competitions and submit work for publication. I want to build up a writing CV and then next year or maybe the year after, I’ll look into applying for those sponsorships.

Giving crafting a backseat is also a strategy for this year’s personal challenge. No buying yarn. Any yarn. Not for myself anyway. I can buy gifts for other people, and commission pieces are excluded. But I have a pretty huge stash of yarn and I’m pretty sure I can work with that for a while. I think I’ll reach at least March before I start to get yarn-buying withdrawal symptoms.

My biggest goal for this year is to be happy. 2012 was pretty sucky, but several times in there I felt happy and normal. I wanna get that feeling back, and keep it for longer than an evening at the time.

I wish you all the best for 2013… Health, wealth, happiness and all that stuff 🙂

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

