Discworldathon

Those of you who read regularly will see that I’ve finished two of the three challenges I had last year – Project 200, and the list of 2012 Fantabulous Things.  You might also have noticed that I didn’t write a conclusion post for the Discworldathon.  Very good reason for that… I didn’t finish.

I’ll start by telling those of you who don’t know, what the Discworldathon is.  I planned to read all 37 Discworld book by Terry Pratchett in one year.  I wanted to raise money for Alzheimer’s Research because Terry Pratchett has Alzheimer’s now and that’s a damn damn shame.

When I decided to go ahead with it, I was living in Stoke-on-Trent with no social life and having two or three eight-hour long baths a week, where I’d read and read and read.  It would have been easy as pie to finish the Discworldathon.  But then in July I moved down here to Basingstoke and have been a wee bit busier.  I haven’t had as much chance to read and, regretably, I didn’t complete all the books in time.

For those that sponsored me, I’m not going to insist on the money.  I’ll leave it up to you whether or not you want to donate the money anyway.  I will say that I’m not going to read anything else until I’ve actually finished.  There are only four or five more books to go.

I did raise a bit of money – thanks to the people who donated directly to my Justgiving page.  And every penny counts 🙂  Thanks for all the support guys.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Nerdiness, Yearly Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Discworldathon

  1. So how many books were finished in the time frame?

Leave a Reply

