Micro-lit

As some of you know, I write flash fiction.  I like fitting a whole story into less than 500 words.  It gives me a thrill, and a challenge.  It isn’t half as easy as it sounds.

There’s a sub-genre of flash fiction called micro fiction, that comes in one or two forms.  Two that I attempt quite regularly are txtlit, and 6 word stories.

Txtlit comes from a month by month competition.  Each month you’re given a theme, and you have to write a complete story in just 154 characters.

Six word stories are just what they sound like.  A story in six words.  The most famous example being one by Hemingway: “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.”

I attempt micro-lit quite a lot, although I’ve never managed to be happy enough with anything to submit.  But I thought I’d share my attempts here, and see what people think.

Here are some attempts at txtlit:

1) Jack pushed the carrot into the face of the snowman, then went back inside. He had a few more weeks before he had to dispose of the body.

2) Every time she opened her eyes I’d wait a second longer before fleeing out of the window. One day she might see me.

3) He wasn’t dead, but I buried him anyway. He wasn’t worth all the paperwork.

4) Seconds drip past, but the hours race by.

5) The sands of time, turned into mud by the tears of clowns.

6) The sands of time trickle through my veins.

7) Seconds drip past, each moment a freeze frame.  But then a blink and the day is gone.

8) It seems like only yesterday…

9) Call the police!  That woman is wasting time.

10) The past, the present, the future.  All rolled into one pink, crying newborn bundle.

And here are some attempts at six word stories:

11) Map ready.  Bag packed.  Let’s go!

12) 1000 miles from home, and broke.

13) Six countries.  Seven weeks.  Only £100.

14) Dropped my map down a well.

15) I watched the countdown reach zero.

Please let me know what you think!

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

