Pets vs Guests

The other day I found this picture online:

2013-08-31 06.12.50

(I’m not sure why I screenshotted instead of saving the picture, but there you go.)

That is how I feel about my cats.  As far as I’m concerned, my cats are family.  And anybody who comes to visit needs to be aware that the cats have as much rights as other residents of the house.

I thought about making my own version of the poster above but with “cat” instead of dog.

Then last night I found this one:

2013-09-01 06.15.13

Although this one is oriented towards cats, I don’t actually like this one.

Rule 1 makes sense.

Rule 2 would depend on how many other seats there are.  I wouldn’t make a guest stand or sit on the floor just because the cats are on the only seats.  But then, dependent on who the guests are, I’d make my sister or myself sit on the floor so a guest could have a chair too.

I get 3, that’s the same as in the dog poster.  And I agree with rule 4.

Rule 5 is a bit weird.  I would be sympathetic to a friend with an allergy, but if they come to my house knowing I have cats, then they should be prepared.  I think it’s just the wording that puts me off.

Rule 6 – I’ve had friends who don’t like cats, and they just gently push the cat away if it gets too close.  Which is perfectly fine.  I’m not sure what the writer of this means by “shoo”, but again, I think it’s the wording that bothers me.

Rule 7 is another ambiguous one.  I wouldn’t expect someone who dislikes cats to enjoy having a cat sit on them, or be forced to put up with it.  On the other hand, if you hurt my cat, I will kill you.  But there’s a difference between hurting the cat, and gently putting him on the floor or on the seat next to you.

Rule 8 I agree with.  I don’t like people telling me that the way I deal with my cats is wrong, but it’ll happen.  Just like people will tell you that you feed your baby the wrong baby food or use the wrong diapers.  It’s gonna happen.

9 is another one I agree with – and it’s on the dog poster too.

10 is just rude.  Yes, I’m a cat person, but inviting a guest over and then stating in big red letters that you prefer someone else to them is just plain rude.

I’m sure there are other posters like this out there, and I might have a look for them, but at the moment, I much prefer the dog one.

What about you?  Do you have rules for how guests should deal with pets in the house?

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

