Geek

I’m a geek.  I don’t deny this.  I embrace this.  And I love the YouTube channel Geek and Sundry.

Last year when they renewed for a second season, the brilliant, fabulous, sexy, gorgeous, amazing head of G&S posted this video.

I loved that little speech.  It’s very true that people these days are using Geek as an advertising campaign, but we’re more than that.  I don’t think I could say it any better than she does.

“Geek means an outsider, a rebel, a dreamer, a creator – whether it’s our own world or someone else’s.  It’s a fighter, it’s a person who dares to love something that isn’t conventional.  The mantra of geek to me is “your judgement is not my problem.”  You think comics are dumb?  Fine.  You think I may not be a real gamer?  Whatever, that’s your problem.  I think we need to re-own geek.”

Long Live Geek!

 

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Nerdiness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

