Vegas: the inevitable low point

This morning I woke up too early and couldn’t get back to sleep. I have a stinking head cold, which Kat tells me is actually a reaction to all the AC out here. Whatever it is, it’s a sore throat, a stuffy head, and a semi runny nose. Combined with the headache I’ve had almost constantly and I just generally felt like crap.

But today I had scheduled two prepaid events. A ren fair, then a show this evening. So I dragged myself out, hopped on a bus and headed out to Sunset Park. The travel took a while, but I didn’t mind. I got into a couple of conversations. When I got off the bus though I was presented with a nice long walk across the park, in direct bright sunlight, to what turned out to the the wrong end of the fair. So I had to walk around the huge fenced area just to get in. And on that walk around I slipped in gravel and went over on my bad ankle.

So after I looked at a few stalls of pretty things on my way to the food area to get a drink, I sat here at a bench under a giant parasol and I’m not feeling great. Sick, sun stroked, worried about if my ankle will be okay. And because I don’t feel well, I’m homesick too.

It’s not too bad in the shade. There’s cool music, there’s lots of interesting costumes to look at. I want to go browse all the shopping stalls, but I’m now scared to move. Sat here I feel okay. If I start walking and go into the sun I’ll feel like shit within minutes. Bah. Why couldn’t the weather have stayed cool and cloudy like it has been all week?

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Health, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vegas: the inevitable low point

  1. Pingback: 1 Year Ago Today | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

