Vegas: the best souvenir

Monday morning I woke up feeling like I was hungover, even though I wasn’t. The AC induced sniffles had evolved into a cough, my legs felt like lead and my head was killing me. But I had plans with Kat and Chris. So I dragged my sorry butt out of bed, grabbed some beef jerky for breakfast and strolled next door to the Flamingo where they were staying. They have a lovely room with a pretty spectacular view.

After watching Chris yell at the wifi for a bit, we headed to the car and to our first stop of the day. Lion Habitat Ranch. Once upon a time you could see live lions at the MGM, but those lions never lived at the hotel. They commuted in each day from this ranch, which is owned by and lived on by Keith and Bev. Once the MGM decided to close that particular exhibit the couple opened the ranch to the public.

20131015-061932.jpg

20131015-061940.jpg

20131015-062008.jpg

20131015-062017.jpg
(There are also some birds: these ostriches and some guinea fowl that were wondering around with two little babies, and a few others dotted around).

We chose the perfect time to go visit because on Friday last week these little guys were born:

20131015-062340.jpg

20131015-062346.jpg
The most adorable little termites! So sweet and new that they still had umbilical attachments, they couldn’t open their eyes or walk yet. One of them had little wolf like markings and they were trying to think of names. I suggested Akala, like from Jungle Book. They, like most animal owners, prefer two syllable names so they chose Kala. She’s the one with the bottle here:

20131015-062705.jpg
She did not want to let go of that thing.

I named a lion! How cool is that?! And Bev gave me a free t-shirt to say thanks.

20131015-062847.jpg
Pretty much the best souvenir in the world!

Aside from Kala, my favourite lion was this dude. His name is actually Dude.

20131015-063038.jpg
And for the entire time I watched him he just lay there, all paws in the air and his wild unruly mane flopped back.

I KNOW that these are wild animals and dangerous beasts, but I couldn’t help but see giant kitty cats. There was an area about halfway round where a guy was in there playing with a bunch of year old lions. Throwing giant jingle balls that they’d chase. They’d tumble into each other and over each other. One of them kept hopping from one podium with a rock to another one with a log, like he couldn’t make his mind up what toy he wanted.

It’s not a huge place, but it was well worth the entry fee. I’d have paid more. In fact, I stuck some money in the donation box. They need more visitors and more money, so I’m going to advertise them on as many sites as I can find when I get home.

If you’re ever in Vegas you need to go visit them. They’re open to the public Fri-Mon in the fall, and also do picture opportunities with cubs for an extra fee when there are cubs of the right age. They do feast with beasts experiences, trainer experiences and other things. You can find their website here.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

