Tabletop Games vs Computer Games

I refer to myself as a gamer and this inevitable causes confusion.  Most people assume I mean video games.  Whilst I’m mostly a tabletop gamer, I do play video games.  I like the games on my iPad, I play the occasional puzzle game on my computer.  Every so often I get sucked in to a few hours of World of Warcraft, which I enjoy although I’m really not very good at it.

If I had the money I’d buy myself a Wii again – I had one a few years ago but had to sell it during a financial crisis.  And I desperately want a SNES or an N64 again.  I like platform games like Mario, and I enjoy the sports on the Wii.

But I wouldn’t necessarily call myself a console gamer.  That phrase brings to mind things like Call of Duty, GTA and Final Fantasy.  None of those things really appeal to me.

On the other hand, when I have someone playing with me, I can be quite amused.  I’m visiting a friend this week, who is very much a computer/console gamer.  He got me to have a go at a couple of games on his PS3.  We played Spelunky last night, which was great fun.  I could have spent all day just in the starting room beating up my “partner”.  I don’t have a Playstation, but apparently you can get the game on PC too, so I’ll be looking into that.

And this morning we spent a couple of hours playing Diablo.  Not something I’d ever play alone, there’s far too much to pay attention to.  But he did all that bit, and I just followed him around beating the crap out of zombies with my massive hammer, and stealing all the loot.  I had lots of fun, and may well be requesting we play again a bit later 🙂

My problem with these games – and why I’m no good at World of Warcraft – is attention.  On games like Mario, you pay attention to time and lives.  On WOW and Diablo there’s life, and health, and points, and various weaponry, and outfits, and money, and selling, and plot points, and quests, and maps, and directions, and bad guy levels.  The two biggest flaws I have with WOW are walking off cliffs because I’m following the big arrow that tells me where to go, and not the map that shows me roads, and walking into large groups of bad guys several levels higher than I am and dying miserably.  Well, not miserably.  I enjoy it.

The point of all this rambling?  I wouldn’t consider myself a console gamer, or a PC gamer.  But then I don’t go around saying I’m a tabletop gamer either.  I’m a gamer, and I’m open to new experiences 🙂

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Nerdiness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

