Zentangle Challenges

Welcome to the new combined version of the Zentangle Challenges.  Instead of spamming my blog with one post per challenge, I’m consolidating them all on Diva Challenge day.

First up is Challenge #18: make a piece of Zentangle you love and give it away.

2014-02-21 16.42.27

This piece is being sent all the way across the Atlantic Ocean to my penpal in New York State.

Challenge 19 presented just the trigger word “long”, so I went for something like this:

2014-02-23 18.46.21

I love it, but it’s made me sick of those specific white pens for a while.

Challenge 20 is today’s Diva challenge.  It was inspired by someone who said they couldn’t use grid-based tangles because they can’t draw straight lines.  So Diva’s challenge is to use grid-based tangles on uneven or curvy lines.  Her’s was lovely, but I’m not so pleased with mine:

2014-02-24 12.54.37

Aside from the Florz in the top left, I picked all my grid patterns from the superbly handy Doodle Patterns app, which you can download here.  It was ridiculously helpful, because I have several dozen grid-based tangles in my reference book.

This challenge just proved what I’ve known since I first started doing this.  You can make the set up for Cadent as messy as anything and it’ll still come out looking gorgeous.  And I like the swirly one down the bottom.  It’s a new one for me, from the Doodle Patterns app.

And I’m adoring the new way of doing my beloved Fescu.  I tend to put Fescu in ALL my pieces, in case you hadn’t noticed.

I’m not happy with my Four Corners though, cos it looks messy, and for me that detracts from the whole piece.

What do you guys think?

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Yearly Challenges, Zentangle. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Zentangle Challenges

  1. ledenzer says:

    So fun to see all your challenge pieces…….beautiful ZIA’s

  2. Karen says:

    I love them all.

  3. Annemarie says:

    I think it turned out very pretty.

  4. Great results! I think they are all fantastic. I especially like the long one.

  5. thesinisterscribe says:

    Amazing tangles! I particularly like the long one. 😀

  6. Donald W says:

    That is a lot of work. I usually have trouble getting one done. I like your long one mostly because of the variety.

  7. Jo Hollander says:

    Like them all. Know for sure now I will do more pieces on colored paper. The aubergine/purple one is gorgeous!

  8. Great job, I think “long” is my fave.

Leave a Reply

