Zentangle Challenges

Challenge 43 is another Bentangle from the Ornation-Creation Facebook page.  This time a simple, but pretty rose.

2014-03-12 14.05.15

Challenge 44 is another Inchie.  This one with the theme “window”:

2014-03-13 12.59.05

Challenge 45 is from yet another new challenge site.  This site is called The Bright Owl and she regularly releases Zendala Dares.  These dares are wonderful templates and every so often an additional challenge.  It turns out that I’ve already done a few!  When I first started Zentangling and hunted down as many strings as possible, I downloaded some and since then I’ve done 3 of the dares.  But they don’t count as challenges now because they probably already counted as other challenges.

This one counts though.  It’s Zendala Dare #75 and this was the blank template:

Mandala21

And here’s what I did with it 🙂

2014-03-13 12.58.47

Challenge 46 is one from the It’s a String Thing back catalogue.  This is the original string, picked from tanglepatterns.com

TanglePatterns-String-012

String Thing challenges usually have a limit on the tangles, and for this one we were encouraged to use tangles that begin with Fi, but I didn’t like any of those, so I went with just F.

2014-03-13 13.56.08

In there is Florz, Flore, Fescu, Frames and Flukes.  Flore (in the bottom right corner), by the way, is one my friend Kat designed and can be found on her Doodle Patterns app which you can get for here!, or you can find the instructions on her website here.

Challenge 47 is another Inchie: Blue.

2014-03-13 18.55.43

Challenge 48 is another collaborative doodle from my friend Kat’s site.  Except that this time it was 9 of us, and she’s changed the name to Doodling Together.  I bagsied the centre square from this blank string she drew up:

collab2-300x300

Here’s what I did with it:

2014-03-07 13.46.56

And here’s how the whole thing turned out 🙂

collab2-1024x1024

Challenge 49 is Diva #159 – “Top O’ The Morning”.  This time the challenge was to celebrate St Patrick’s Day.  So here’s an overly green piece, in a semi-shamrock shaped string.  Ooo, I like that sentence.

2014-03-17 22.13.19

Challenge 50 is the next Tackle It Tuesday – using tangles that begin with D: DL Sunray, Demi, Dutch Hourglass, Dex, Dooleedoo and Droplets.

2014-03-19 12.26.02

Challenge 51 is It’s A String Thing #32, with this string:

TanglePatterns-String-024

.. and the restriction that we use tangles that contained both a W and an R in the title.  So here is mine, with Werm, Birds on a Wire, Swarm, Rosewood, Wired, Swirls and Trentwith.

2014-03-19 12.25.44

Werm is one my friend created, and I’ve used Birds on a Wire and Rosewood before, but the other four were completely new to me.  I like Wired and Swirls, but I don’t think I’ll use Swarm or Trentwith again.

(Also, please ignore the date next to my signature that says I did in a month in the future.  It was very late at night when I finished it.)

Challenge 52 is the St Patrick’s Day Bentangle:

017

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Yearly Challenges, Zentangle. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Zentangle Challenges

  1. Wow, you’ve been busy 🙂 Lovely pieces!

  2. I agree, Wow you have been busy. Great set of pieces!

  3. Annemarie says:

    You made a lot of beautiful peaces!

  4. LonettA says:

    Wonderful series of pieces! They are so lovely!!

Leave a Reply

