My Last Day on Earth

I’ve been rewatching Grey’s Anatomy from the very beginning and in one of the earlier episodes Meredith ends with asking what you’d do with your last day on earth if you knew it was the end?

As is my wont, I have been thinking about this a lot.  It’s actually something I’ve thought about before.  I am quite prone to thinking about death and end of days and stuff.  I’m a bit of a morbid cow sometimes.

But I know, pretty much, what I’d do with my last day.  There isn’t really a lot of debate about it.  I know who I’d want.  I know who I’d need.  I have my bucket list, of things I’d like to do before I kick the proverbial bucket, but on that last day there are certain things I’d want.  This is, of course, going on the hypothetical situation of knowing that I was going to die at exactly 9.02pm or something.  If my last day on earth involves me being hit by a bus, I’ll probably have done sod all as usual.

My last day on earth would begin with me waking up in a big warm comfy double bed, next to a tall handsome man who loves me.  We would spend a couple of hours doing things I probably shouldn’t write about on here, before settling back, snuggling and watching some TV.  Then we’d go to for a carvery for lunch, meeting my mum, my two sisters and my niece/nephew there.  We’d all eat lovely tasty meat and veg, and a large ice creamy dessert.  Perhaps some profiteroles.  The afternoon would be spent with those same people.  The people I care most about.  We’d invite a couple of my closest friends to join us, and we’d spend the afternoon playing tabletop games.  They’d start off letting me win, what with me being on my death bed and all, but I’d insist on them not being so bloody stupid.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

