Nerd Clothes

In yesterday’s blog I mentioned watching all the nerdy t-shirts walk by.  I’m a nerd, I love being a nerd, and I’d love to show off said nerdiness.  I love t-shirts with funky images and slogans on.  However, I am also a fat nerd, and that makes it quite difficult to buy tops.  So I’ve been thinking about making my own.

With my increasing sewing skills I could probably make t-shirts.  I haven’t tried yet, but I will.  Also, Evans (the fat lady clothes shop in the UK) is currently doing a nice range of simple plain t-shirts and vests in nice colours for only £6 each.  So I could get some of them and decorate them at will.

Which means research!  Which t-shirts shall I make?  How shall I make them?  I’ve done a big bunch of research about that today.  Found various methods that I’m going to try, and about four million shirts I’d like to make.

PicMonkey Collage PicMonkey Collage2 PicMonkey Collage3 PicMonkey Collage4 PicMonkey Collage5 PicMonkey Collage6 PicMonkey Collage7

But I have a wonderful habit of messing things up, so I need to take it slowly and experiment.  The experiment started today.  I’ve bought two vest tops from Evans that should arrive sometime this week:

Capture

And a bleach pen from eBay that could arrive any time in the next month or so.  I’ve chosen what I’m starting with, and I’ve made a template.  It should be fairly simple.

– Print template

– Cut out template

– Wash and dry shirt

– Stick template to shirt

– Put protection inside shirt

– Use bleach pen to fill in words

– Remove templates

– Wash and dry

Fairly simple.  Apart from my wonderful ability to screw up very simple things.  But we’ll see.  I’ll let you know how they turn out 🙂

 

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Nerdiness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nerd Clothes

  1. Pingback: T-Shirt Attempt | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  2. Pingback: Nerdy Clothes | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

