Monkey Movie Marathon Month

index

Yesterday I found out that there’s going to be a new Planet of the Apes movie coming out this year, which made me realise that I hadn’t yet seen Rise of The Planet of the Apes.  So, using the wonderful internet, I got myself a copy and settled down to watch it.

It was pretty brilliant.  My heart really felt for Caesar, and I loved every minute of it.  Partly because it reminded me how much I love monkeys.  (and apes).

When I was a little girl I collected stuffed rabbits.  I can’t remember how it started, but somehow I had an awful lot of them.  But the first animal collection that I actually picked was monkeys.  When I was 18 or so, I decided that I loved monkeys and thus my collection began.  You can’t really see it while I’m living here at mum’s.  There are one or two dotted around my room (although looking up to count them now I think a dozen or so would be more accurate).  There are my tattoos.  And there are posters and pictures and cards and all sorts.  In my giant stack of boxes however, there are HUNDREDS more.  Monkeys monkeys monkeys monkeys monkeys.

Recently I’ve decided that I like elephants and giraffes almost as much as I like monkeys, but watching the movie last night I remembered that monkeys are really my first love.  So, in honour of this, I’m going to have a Monkey Movie Marathon Month.  If I’d decided this earlier in the year, I’d have this marathon month during March or May, but since March is now 8 months away, I don’t want to wait that long.  So, July will be Monkey Movie Marathon Month.

Today I start collecting the movies.  The original Planet of the Apes series, the remake, some King Kong films, the Space Chimps movies, Mighty Joe Young, Ed, Every Which Way But Loose, MVP: Most Valuable Primate, Project X, Dunston Checks In, Monkey Trouble, Funky Monkey, Congo, Chimpanzee, Born to Be Wild, Buddy.

And any others I can think of between now and the end of July.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Nerdiness, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monkey Movie Marathon Month

  1. Pingback: Disney Addict | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  2. Pingback: Monkey Movie Marathon Month | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  3. Pingback: Monkey Movie Marathon Month – Update | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

