T-Shirt Attempt

Remember how after I went to that games convention I decided to make some nerd t-shirts of my own?

I mentioned the vests I’d bought, and the bleach pen.  And my plan for my first attempt.  It was very simple.

1) Design stencil

2) Print stencil

3) Cut out stencil

4) Wash and dry shirt

5) Put bin bag inside shirt

6) Apply stencil

7) Fill in stencil with bleach pen

8) Remove stencil

9) Allow to dry

10) Wash and dry

Well steps 1-3 were easy.  I decided I wanted “SMEG” across my boobs.

10420105_10152883798204688_9198410296309499975_n

And once steps 4 and 5 were done I started work.

2014-06-13 12.45.18

2014-06-13 12.47.01

The bleach pen, as predicted, didn’t leave the cleanest lines.  But I was okay with that.  You can tell what it’s meant to say.  So, now to leave it to dry.

A few hours later it was obviously beginning to dry, but there was no sign of discoloration.

2014-06-13 15.21.27

Which sucked.  Several hours later I went back to it again and lo and behold, there appeared to be discoloration!

2014-06-13 20.16.14

Not really enough though, so I decided to go over it again with the bleach pen.  It’s a double ended pen.  One “finer” and one more like a bingo dabber.  I used the dabber end the first time but for the second time I used the finer end to redraw the letters.  In hindsight, I should have reapplied the stencil and done the bingo dabber bit again.  The finer end kept exploding.

2014-06-13 20.21.50

I decided that once I’d done the whole word, I’d wash it right away.  Since the discoloration was taking forever I assumed the new blotches wouldn’t stain.  And once it was dry I could reapply the stencil and do that second coating of bleach.

NOT!!

This is how it came out after being washed and dried.

2014-06-15 16.25.26

It looks exactly as it did when I got it.

SMEG indeed.

At this point I have a couple of ideas for moving on.

a) I could buy a bottle of actual bleach and use a paintbrush.  Perhaps the bleach pen had an additive or something.

b) I could give up on the bleach and get some fabric paint/pens.

I’m gonna go with option b for now.  Fabric paint/pens are on my list of things to try anyway, so I’ll leave the bleach attempt behind me and move on.

Don’t have the money for said fabric paint/pens for a few weeks though, so the second attempt might have to wait.

In the meantime, I need to practice cutting out curves.  If you look closely at my stencil you’ll see my many many flaws.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft, Nerdiness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to T-Shirt Attempt

  1. Pingback: Nerdy Clothes | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

