Why I Celebrate Christmas in June

It is June 17th, and I am watching a Christmas movie.  Miracle on 34th Street to be precise.  Richard Attenborough makes a VERY good Santa Claus.

I’ve watched several Christmas movies in recent weeks.  A Flintstone Christmas Carol yesterday, and A Christmas Story the day before.  And I get laughed at.

“You’re watching Christmas movies?!  It’s June!”

Yes, I know it’s June.  I also watch Christmas movies in July and August and September.  And October and November.  And in January, February, March, April and May.

I love Christmas, and it makes me happy.  I see no reason why it should be relegated to December.  I can, however, understand why some people think it should be.  I understand that for a lot of people it just means stress and money and chaos and all sorts of horrible things.  I feel sad for those people.  And for people who feel like Christmas should begin on the 24th and end on the 26th, I feel especially sad.

I’m not religious.  To me, Christmas isn’t about the birth of Jesus, or about the nativity.  To me Christmas is about joy, and peace, and happiness, and giving.  It’s about fun and colour and presents and food and singing.  In all of these Christmas movies I watch, they talk about the Christmas spirit.  The Christmas spirit is about being friendly and kind, and helpful and thoughtful.  It’s about family and friends and anyone you happen to care about.  The Christmas spirit makes you, or me at least, feel warm and full and “glowy” and why should I only feel that in December?

If Christmas helps me to feel warm and joyful and peaceful all year round, then why the heck shouldn’t I celebrate it in whichever month I want.

I will plot presents in March, I will sing carols in July, I will make decorations in September.  And bah humbug to all of you who mock me.  I wish you a very merry Christmas, and a peaceful New Year.  All year round!

god-jul1

About Colette Horsburgh

A 40-something artist, crafter, maker and crazy cat lady living with a hidden disability and mental health issues.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.