Beading Triumph

One of the crafts I do that I don’t write about too much is beading.  The reason I don’t write about it often is I’m really not that good at it.  I’m not too good at controlling the wire on clasps and things, and I have a tendency to make things that fall apart.  But I do adore collecting beads, and I love having a go every so often.

Recently I came across this video on Youtube:

And I thought… ooo that’s very pretty.  And looks reasonably simple to do.  So I went to my beading drawers and had a look through and discovered that my beads were either too big or too small.  I had to wait a few days before I could get to somewhere that sold beads, but I ended up buying one of these (I forgot to take a photo before I started):

2014-07-09 19.11.08

And off I went – I even used a tip I’d heard about stiffening the end of the string by using nail polish.  And the technique detailed in the video really does make a beautiful pattern.

2014-07-09 17.06.54

It can be a wee bit fiddly at first, and it takes a while.  I have big wrists anyway, and for a wrap bracelet that’s even more to thread.  But I sat here and watched one and a half monkey movies and got on with it.

It got long enough just in time.  I only had a few beads left:

2014-07-09 18.34.42

I would have had more, but there were quite a few mutants in that particular tub.

2014-07-09 18.35.01

It has a button at one end:

2014-07-09 18.37.37

And a highly improvised loopy thing at the other end, complete with antennae.

2014-07-09 18.47.12

I’m really impressed with how it turned out.  I have a tendency to make things too small or too loose, but this is just right.  And it looks soooo good.

2014-07-09 18.47.57 2014-07-09 18.48.10

I counted the beads so I could make many more.  180 x 4mm beads makes a perfect length bracelet for me, so now I know how many I need for more bracelets.  I want a rainbow one, and one in Slytherin colours, and in purple colours and…. and so on.  I’m off to eBay.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beading Triumph

  1. Pingback: More Beading | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  2. Pingback: More Beading – Learning New Skills | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

