Thunder and Lightning!

Today’s Random Observations blog is pushed back to tomorrow because today I actually have something to write about.

It’s been hot and muggy and sticky for the past few days.  Weather I can’t stand.  So when I saw a flash of lightning out my window at 1 o’clock this morning, I was a little bit hopeful.  I counted for the thunder – because that’s how it works (it’s science).  And I hoped for a little storm, a little rain.  Something to clear the air just a little.

lightning1_small

Then it rained.  It rained quite a bit.  Then it stopped for a second.  Then it started back up.  A lot.

Heavy-Rainfall

It rained and rained.  My favourite type of rain.  Wet stuff.  That sounds odd, but you know how some rain is sharp and cold and pointy?  This rain, my rain, is big and fat and heavy and wet.  And I couldn’t resist it.  I hurriedly pulled on some shoes, and a bra under my nightie.  I grabbed the dog lead, and the dog.  And I went for a walk in it.

Rain23 304

It wasn’t a long walk – we just walked around the block.  But in seconds we were soaked.  Right to the skin.  And I could barely keep my eyes open from the rain.

It was glorious!  I love it!  When I came in, I had scratches on my legs from the thistles in the front garden, but I had a very big smile on my face.  Bigger than I’ve had for a while.  Rain makes me happy.

I forgot how much I love the rain, and how much I like walking in it.  When I got my first flat in Stoke-on-Trent, a good ten years ago now, it was quite secluded, and I would go outside in thunderstorms and dance in the rain.

I didn’t quite dance on this particular trip, but it was wonderful.  If I’d put on shoes that didn’t start slipping around the second they were wet, and if I didn’t have the not-so-rain-loving dog with me, I’d have stayed out there longer.

The rain didn’t last very long.  Just another ten minutes or so after that.  But the thunder and lightning went on for a while.  It was lovely.  And the air did clear a little too.

night-thunder-storm-lightning

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

