Living with Mental Illness

This video has been making the rounds on the internet recently:

Anderson Cooper is an American journalist and what he’s doing in that video is experiencing just a little of what it’s like to be schizophrenic.

I’m not schizophrenic, I don’t hear voices.  But my own brain does talk to me a lot.  Some of the snippets that you could hear in the video are the sorts of things my brain does say to me.  And watching that video is a little uncomfortable.

The reason it’s been making the rounds online is because it opens a door into a world that a lot of people tend to overlook.  Having a mental illness is not about attitude.  We don’t suffer because we want to, because we’re lazy or because we just don’t “get over it.”

It sucks.  It sucks all the time.  Sometimes you can be having a very good day and be really happy, and on those days it sucks a little less.  But you still have this cloud hovering over you.  You know in the back of your mind that this good day won’t last.  And it sucks.

I’m not sure what my aim for this post is.  I just wanted to share that video a little further.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Living with Mental Illness

  1. Cronic Knitter says:

    Reblogged this on Vammeria and commented:
    Luckily I don’t hear voices but very random thoughts, both positive & negative come to mind which (more so in the last few weeks) may cause a small anxiety attack. My moods can switch on a dime and I find I’m getting more headaches and all this while on novo-venlafaxine xr 150mg for a good seven years, which has me a tad concerned.

Leave a Reply

