A Beading Creation

I posted a few days ago about how I was teaching myself new beading skills.  At the start of that post I mentioned something epic that had happened that I couldn’t talk about just yet.  Well… I can talk about it now!

A few weeks ago I was contacted by a beading website called Auntie’s Beads, who wanted to sponsor me to do a post.

Aunties-Beads-logo-small-font-300x144

I’m telling you about this, instead of just writing the post, because I’ve seen bloggers get into trouble for not disclosing.

I see nothing wrong with being sponsored to write a post, and I’m very happy that my first is with such a wonderful company.  They have a beautiful range, for excellent prices, with nice cheap shipping costs.  Their customer service is friendly, as expected from a family-run company.

Yesterday my goodies arrived from them.  So many new beads, with so many new possibilities.

2014-08-13 18.57.15

There are 16mm acrylic gumball beadrock beads.

2014-08-13 18.56.59

These are 4mm neon Czech glass beads.

2014-08-13 18.57.07

These are 4mm black and white synthetic calsilica gemstones.

2014-08-13 18.57.21

These are 8/0 green miyuki seed beads.

2014-08-13 18.57.34

This is a synthetic malachite freeform pendant.

2014-08-13 18.57.41

This is a TierraCast antique silver pewter Tree of Life charm.

2014-08-13 18.57.46

And this is 1mm round leather cord.

After I’d spent a half hour sorting them into boxes and resorting them again, because that’s half the fun of beading of me, I worked out what I wanted to make.  I fiddled around with them for a while, putting them in various orders.  (I should really invest in a beading tray like one of these…)

index

(…. or at least a mat like one of these…)

tackybeadmatpress01

(…although that’s pretty much just felt and I’m sure I could make myself one.  Oooo, new project idea!  Stop rambling… it might be in the blog title but people came here to read about beads.)

Where was I?

Yes, I laid out several patterns until I found a couple I liked, then I put them all together.  It took some time, thanks to slow semi-confident movements when utilising new skills, but they came out really well.

First up I used the black and white beads with some star beads I already had to make a beautiful pair of earrings:

2014-08-14 01.47.35

Keep your eyes on the blog for my first ever tutorial which will be about how to make these.

Secondly I paired the pewter pendant with some silver spacer beads I already had, and threaded them onto the cord to make this necklace:

vr

I taught myself a new skill with this one too – learning how to do those sliding knots in cord.  It was much easier than I was expecting!

Thank you so much to Auntie’s Beads for the opportunity.  You should really go and check out their site.  As well as their wide range of beads and findings, you can also find tutorials and videos.  They have a regular newsletter you can subscribe to.  As well as a Beader’s Advantage reward club you can join to get 10% off and free shipping within the US.  International shipping rates are also very good, as I mentioned.  Everything I ordered got sent to me through USPS International for $3.99

Definitely my current favourite beading website.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Beading Creation

  1. Pingback: Tutorial – How to Make Zebra Star Earrings | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  2. Pingback: Adventures in Beading | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

