Adventures in Beading

On alternate Wednesdays I’m going to be keeping you all up to date with my lessons and stuff with beading.

This week I’ve been working through a website I found called Making-Beaded-Jewelry.com

I started off with How To Wrap A Briolette Bead.  Despite not having a proper briolette bead (apparently they’re tear-drop shaped), I still managed to have a good go.

2014-10-07 11.57.37

I don’t like making pieces that won’t be used, even when just practicing.  I’d like to be able to put them into beautiful jewellery if they turn out okay.  So I used this page on the site for inspiration to turn that little non-briolette bead into a Y necklace.

I took a nice long length of wire, folded it in half and threaded my non-briolette onto it so it sat in the middle.

[embedhttps://www.flickr.com/photos/127494946@N05/15465342651/[/embed]

I threaded three funky little eye beads onto both sides of the wire.  Which was harder than I’d expected – they only JUST fit.  I should really start paying attention to hole size and wire gauge.

2014-10-07 12.09.03

I split the two wires and threaded a big bunch of these gorgeous purple crackle beads, breaking up the pattern with a couple of pearly ones.

2014-10-07 12.29.12

2014-10-07 12.29.32

I finished off the side by rolling the wire into a loop.

2014-10-07 12.29.40

Repeated on the other side.

I added a jump ring to one side, a jump ring and a lobster clasp to the other side…

2014-10-07 12.49.28

2014-10-07 12.49.50

And voila!

2014-10-07 12.50.37

 

 

 

 

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adventures in Beading

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Beading | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

