Rainbow Triumph

During the Spring Cleaning KAL in April, I took a pile of 49 patches…

2014-04-04-09-51-201

…sorted them into colours and gave them all black borders.  I worked out how many more of each colour I’d need to make in order to have a nice rainbow quilt.

Last month I finished making and collecting all the patches I needed.  The next step was to lay out the order.

2014-09-28 19.36.16

With help from Smudge:

2014-09-28 19.47.36

And then I spent a week sewing it up.  First up, rows of 8 patches.  Then sewing those 10 rows together.  Lots of work, but kinda soothing.

With help from Smudge:

2014-10-07_14.42.50_medium2

I did muck it up a little.  I was so focused on not attaching the rows with the wrong side facing, that I managed to get it all flipped around, and now my rainbow spreads from a different corner.

But how beautiful is this?

2014-10-09 14.49.23

I’m so very happy with it!

You can’t see the top corner patch in that photo, but it’s another little rainbow all of its own:

2013-05-21_12.41.16_medium2

Chuffed chuffed chuffed chuffed.

Now, on to the next blanket!

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainbow Triumph

  1. Pingback: Family Photos | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

