NaNoWriMo Begins

Have you heard of NaNoWriMo?  The word stands for National Novel Writing Month.  Writers all over the world commit to writing a 50,000 word novel in the month of November.

crest-bda7b7a6e1b57bb9fb8ce9772b8faafb

I’ve attempted this one before, and I failed very very miserably.  Until I started the writing course when I moved back to Basingstoke I had a lot of trouble with consistency when it came to my writing.

Now that things are a little better, and now that a bunch of us students from that course have established a proper writing group (Basingstoke Scribes), I’m finding writing a lot easier.

So this month I’m attempting NaNoWriMo again.

I’d doing it a little differently though.  I’m not writing a novel, I’m writing an anthology of short stories.

A Walk Among the Daisies: Short Stories to Die For

I’ve collected a bunch of first line suggestions and I’m creating short stories from those.  So far I have two half stories, and just over 1000 words.

With an average daily word count of 1666 needed, I’m not doing too badly.

Of course, this is only the start of day 3, so there’s a long way to go yet.

Wish me luck!

(PS, if you’re participating on NaNoWriMo too and want to be writing buddies, my name on there is Colette0101)

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo Begins

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Beading | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Update | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

