1 Crane Down, 999 to Go

Yesterday I wrote about my new several-hundred-item bucket list.  Item 190 on that list is to make 1000 origami cranes or stars.

The original idea is quite a popular one.  Making 1000 origami cranes appears on a lot of bucket lists.  According to Wikipedia this is an old Japanese legend that says that anyone who folds those origami cranes will be granted a wish by a chicken.  No, I’m kidding.  You get a wish from a crane.

The conditions vary.  Some versions say you are granted luck or long life etc, and making cranes for family and friends has become very popular.

The number of 1000 isn’t just because it’s a good solid round number.  A crane is considered mystical in Japan and can live up to 1000 years.  So each folded bird is for 1 year of the crane’s life.

There is a condition in some versions of the story that say that all the cranes must be made and kept by the same person, and that they must be completed within a year.  It’s quite an undertaking.

The Wikipedia page also lists from traditions related with the cranes, including them being a wedding gift from the father of the bride.  I can’t imagine my dad even sending a card when I get married, let alone making me 1000 paper cranes.  But I know of a lot of dads who would.

It’s a very interesting idea.  And one that I was more than happy to add to my bucket list.  But I’ve made an adjustment.  I’ve added “or stars” to the end of my item.  I have made a crane.  It was even fairly successful.

2014-10-30 13.48.38

(What you can’t see there is it was made was bright green paper.  I did the folding the wrong way.)

2014-10-30 13.48.50

But it isn’t an overly complicated idea.  Making 999 more of them would be very possible, although perhaps not in one year.

But what do you then do with 1000 paper cranes?  The internet presents wonderful options.

index

1000-cranes-kirsty-ware

1000_origami_cranes_by_xxhtloverxx-d424fvt

Aren’t they beautiful?  I particularly like the idea with lights.  But I felt that perhaps it wouldn’t work for me personally.  So my goal will be to create 1000 Japanese luck stars.  Another tradition, these are also little origami products that are sometimes connected with wishes.  Many people have jars of them, with a wish being made for each star folded.  Some people write wishes on the strips of paper before you fold the star.

5833931_f520

I can make these too…

2014-10-30 13.50.00

…and I’d say it’s the same level of difficulty as the crane.  I plan on making 1000 of these little stars, and I only have 998 to go.

 

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 1 Crane Down, 999 to Go

  1. Pingback: Origami Fails | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  2. Pingback: Lucky Stars | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  3. Pingback: The Origami Continues | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

