Origami Fails

I’m not new to origami.  I’ve dabbled over the years, and there are two bits that I do fairly regularly.  I tend to subconsciously make little boxes like this one…

2014-10-30 13.47.53

…out of bits of paper I might be fiddling with.  Sometimes with pound notes or dollar bills, which amuses me because they’re money boxes.  And I also have a very long strand of Starburst wrapper links.

2014-10-30 14.53.20

I have a collection of origami papers and a couple of simple books that I’ve not gotten around to using, so when I was researching for my origami crane, I had a bit of a go.

I started by making this gift box, from a link that I’d emailed myself months ago with the intention of attempting.  It came out quite well, and I’ll definitely be making more of those.

2014-10-30 13.49.10

So then I moved on to an origami Santa I’d saved in my Christmas crafts folder.  I didn’t have any single-sided red paper, so I had a practice with some neon green.  The first several steps were easy, but then I got lost.  Miserably.

2014-10-30 13.47.42

A bit disheartened, I opened one of the simple books I own and attempted a very basic looking swan.

2014-10-30 13.49.00

I was getting very very disheartened by this point, so I moved to the internet.  I found a website called Origami Club that has all kinds of things at all kinds of levels.  I managed to semi-successfully make a little cupcake…

2014-10-30 13.49.20

… and buoyed by that little success I tried to make a seasonal little bat.

2014-10-30 13.49.41

This was not a good experience.  I had more failures than successes by this point.  So I went very very simple and made a snake from the Origami Club website.

2014-10-30 13.48.19

It’s cute, but this is not what I wanted to be making.  I want to make beautiful bouquets of flowers and magnificently intricate pieces.

Origami-Mosaics-01

index

images

Image475x475

5100093816_529f281875

I knew that I’d have a lot of work to do, but at the rate I was going it would take a hundred years.

So I did what I did when I had trouble learning to crochet.  I went to YouTube.  All of a sudden, everything that was very very hard was only slightly very hard.  I managed to successfully create that lovely crane…

2014-10-30 13.48.38

…and two little stars…

2014-10-30 13.50.00

…a hopping frog…

2014-10-30 13.48.27

…and a hard-to-see-because-I-used-patterned-paper Pikachu.

2014-10-30 13.50.29

I also identified a few very good origami channels that I want to work from as I practice and improve at origami.  So expect a few more posts about origami in the future.

 

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Origami Fails

  1. Pingback: The Origami Continues | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

