When Dice Meet Doodles… the sequel

A few weeks ago I wrote about a doodle flower randomiser that I found on Pinterest.

That image gave me an idea for how to randomise/choose tangles to use when you have a large collection like me.  I have nearly 600 (and rapidly increasing) different tangle patterns in my collection and it’s really hard to figure out which ones to use sometimes.  I tend to stick to the same ten or so, which is great, but it’s a shame for all those other ones.

So, I wrote an alphabetical list in Microsoft Excel, complete with a numbered column, because when I look at the file on my iPad through Dropbox it doesn’t show the numbers that Excel has.

And then I grabbed a D10 – that’s a 10 sided dice:

412MPDKYwsL._SY300_

And then I rolled it three times.  Simples!

For my first demonstration of this I drew a bit of a random string, and then I rolled.  I rolled a 307, which turned out to be Strircles at the time.  Then a 382, which was Zoya.  Then 219 (Muzaky), 085 (Dex), 095 (Eddy), 059 (Cayla), 084 (Demi) and 075 (Crest).  At this point I had one little tiny space left in my string and I rolled 268, which was Rixty.  Now, this was just not going to work.  There was no way I could fit Rixty in that tiny space, so I declared it a dead roll, and rolled again.  I finished my first piece off with 012 (Antz).

2014-10-28 13.45.23

I did a second example too.  This one uses 196 (Loops), 050 (Bunzo), 010 (Amoeba), 109 (Facets), 363 (Well), 170 (Jonqal), 364 (Werm) and 038 (Blox).

2014-10-27 13.27.50

So there you have it.  My idea for how to pick a tangle to use when you have anything up to 999 tangles.

If you don’t have a D10, I found this map online that you can just print off onto card and create your own.

D10

 

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Zentangle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

