Working on the Origami

Last month I started to practice some origami pieces.  As you may recall, I wasn’t doing so well.  But I am nothing if not determined – especially when it comes to increasing the number of crafts that I do.

So I found a lovely tutorial channel on YouTube called Happy Puppy Truffles.  I started off with a series she did about basic origami folds.  I didn’t take pictures cos they are very dull, but I did..

Reverse Fold.

Kite Base and Diamond Base.

Squash Fold.

Boat Base.

Door Base.

Water Bomb Base.

Petal Fold and Bird Base.

Square Base.

Blintz Base.

Mountain and Valley Folds.

And after I’d finished learning these terms and simple bits of folding, I picked a fairly simple piece to start with.

Et voila!  I have a cute little pinwheel.

2014-11-06 13.43.58

It’s horrendously neon pink because I’m using the colours I don’t particularly like to practice with.

For the next session I picked some simple but cute looking pieces.  I started with a crow.

2014-11-17 15.50.47

In the video she uses a lighter colour because she says darker ones can be hard to show up on camera.  And she has a point.  Hopefully you can see the detail okay.  I’m quite chuffed with that one.  I was very pleased with myself with how easily I could follow along.  And it looks really cute.  I want to make some more for Halloween decorations next year.

Next up was a butterfly.  There are lots and lots of different origami butterflies, but I picked a simple one.

2014-11-17 15.51.52

I’m pleased with how well I followed it, but I’m not overly impressed with the end result.   It looks kinda boring.  But that’s the pattern, not my skill.

After that I did an Iris.  My nan’s name was Iris, and I thought it’d be nice to be able to make some.  For the practice piece I used that same shade of very bright pink.

2014-11-17 15.51.11

There are LOTS of folds in this.  Lots and lots.  And towards the end I started to go a bit wonky, so the centre is a little weird looking.  But it’s a cute start.  Definitely more practice required for this one though.

I had another go with a white piece of paper and did a better job I think, but I’m still not perfectly happy.

2014-11-19 22.36.16

Normally I’m not much of a perfectionist but I decided to make my mother an Iris (for nanny) and a Lily (for her birth mother who died when mum was 10) for Christmas.  So the iris HAS to be right!  More practice required.  I know which fold it is that’s going wrong, I just need to be more precise, which has always been an issue for me.

As mentioned, I wanted to make a lily too.  Unfortunately, the pattern for a lily is exactly the same as the one for an iris.  Of course, the two flowers are different colours, so there’s that option.  But I explored another one, and had a go at a water lily pattern.

2014-11-19 22.36.01

I’m not sure about it.  I might well make the two the same shape, if I can find some way to display them properly.

As for my grandad, his name was Jock.  I suppose I could make a jock strap?

Next up was a ninja star.  Whilst sorting out a box downstairs I found one I made ages and ages ago.

2014-11-17 15.51.34

I decided I had to make another one, just to see if I still could.  Apparently I can.

2014-11-19 22.43.55

2014-11-19 22.36.33

This post is already turning out to be quite long, so I’m going to sign off for now, and start the next post.  Stay tuned for more adventures in origami.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft, Friends & Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working on the Origami

  1. Pingback: The Origami Addiction | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  2. Pingback: The Origami Continues | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

