The Origami Addiction

When I pick up a new hobby, I tend to throw myself into it fully and utterly.  And for a short while I’m totally addicted.  At the moment, I’m right in the middle of that with origami.  I can’t stop doing it!

Normally I like to spread out my hobbies, but I’ve barely done much of anything but origami.  It doesn’t help that I’ve subscribed to various YouTube teaching channels, and get emails whenever they upload a new video.

One of those channels, HappyPuppyTruffles who I mentioned in my last origami post, is doing a series of turning traditional origami folds into beautiful holiday decorations.  And when I got the email alerting me to the first one, I put down the crochet I was working on, and got started.

It’s made up of samurai helmets, so I tested the helmet pattern first.

2014-11-22 14.19.42

And then I quartered up some purple sheets and made the eight little ones I needed for the bauble.

2014-11-22 14.20.21

The next step was to glue them together.  You glue pieces together two at a time, so you have four bits.  In the video she glued two of those four bits together, and I went faster than her and glued the other two of those four together.

Oops.  Got carried away.  Apparently you’re supposed to glue two of the four together, then the third to that and then the fourth to that.  My cheapy glue had set really quickly and I was tearing the little purple helmets trying to open it, so I scraped that and made 8 more little helmets.

2014-11-22 22.18.15

And this time I tried to be patient and followed the instructions for combining them.  And I quite like the result.  I might make some more of these.

2014-11-22 22.29.55

One of the other types of videos that HappyPuppyTruffles does is unboxing of kits and special papers and things.  She unboxed a kit for a gorgeous modular Christmas tree, but didn’t show us how to make the tree, which was frustrating.  A simple search on YouTube though presented a whole load of different types of trees.  I tried a couple, but couldn’t get the hang of them, and their finished result wasn’t going to look like this one anyway.  But I found it in the end.  And I enjoyed folding and measuring paper to get all the different sizes I needed.

2014-11-22 22.58.06

And the tree was a simple pattern.  Some very precise folds needed, and a tricky little tuck in the end.  But I LOVE how it turns out.

2014-11-22 23.58.14

So yeah, a bit addicted.  I’m seeing the word everywhere too.  When I was in town Christmas shopping the other day I saw the word “origami” on a book in the corner.

2014-11-24 15.06.31

Naturally, I walked up and had a look.  And was delighted to see how thick the book was!

2014-11-24 15.06.38

My first thought was that was a LOT of different designs, but then I realised it was paper.  There are a couple of designs in the front, but it’s a whole book of paper!  And it’s gorgeous.  It may have jumped into my shopping trolley and come home with me 🙂

I justified it in my head by saying that I’d wrap it up and stick it under the Christmas tree (the actual one, not the origami one) as a present to myself.  But I’d barely gotten in the door before I was playing with it.

I started off with one of their designs, a simple dove.

2014-11-24 15.28.15

And then a very funky little tulip.

2014-11-24 16.26.02

It was that tulip that embedded in my head the fact that I prefer video tutorials.  I had no problem making the stem from the diagrams in the book, but I had trouble with the flower.  It wasn’t quite clear to me in the pictures.  But YouTube saved the day!  Again.

Having decided to move on from the diagrams in the book, I used the paper and returned to HappyPuppyTruffles.  She’d just posted a little wreath made from simple kitty cat heads.

2014-11-24 16.44.17

As cute as the cat heads are, I couldn’t get a nice wreath shape at all.  So I gave up on that one. And moved on to test a very simple little box pattern.

2014-11-24 19.05.11

After that, I felt a little more confident and decided to have another go at a Santa, especially now I had some paper that was red on one side and white on the other.

Unfortunately, the santa patterns on YouTube are difficult.  Very difficult.  I really struggled.  And I tried several different types.  Couldn’t manage it at all.  So I ended up in a grump.

I hate ending craft sessions on a grump, so I went back to nice simple patterns.

2014-11-24 19.29.13

2014-11-24 19.38.21

2014-11-24 20.31.32

(Ignore the wonky tooth on the right.)

Feeling confident again, I was about to finish up for the session, when I got an email alert from another YouTube channel, JoNakashima.  This adorable little bunny just begged to be made.

boi

That adorable little bunny is evil!  EVIL!  For a start, it uses money sized paper, which would be great if I had any money.  The tutorial I found for folding paper into money worked from American letter size, not A4, and there was all kinds of hassle.  And when I finally did end up with a piece of paper with the right aspect ratio, the bunny was evil!

Soooooo many folds.  I kept getting lost.  I kept getting crumpled.  That adorable little bunny kicked my butt.  I had to give up, although I did add “make money bunny” to my bucket list.

I ended up feeling really crappy about my origami skills.  So I did something that I’d already done, that I knew I could do and that would look fantastic.  I made another Christmas tree.

2014-11-24 21.00.56

This one is a little smaller, and still fantastic.

2014-11-24 21.01.11

Tune in next time for more adventures in origami.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Origami Addiction

  1. Pingback: The Origami Continues | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

