The Origami Continues

I’ve been making more Christmas decorations.  Well, it is the time of year 🙂  Starting with this modular ice crystal wreath from HappyPuppyTruffles.

2014-11-25 19.48.57

And then someone on the origami subreddit posted a link to a much much simpler Santa pattern!  So I had a go.  In pink of course, to avoid wasting the red.

2014-11-26 22.58.50

And since it turned out so well, I moved on to the red.

2014-11-26 23.13.47

Made a mini one too.  Mini versions of things are cute.  And I like making minis of things I know I can do because it helps improve my skills.

2014-11-26 23.14.10

Next up was an 8 pointed star from HappyPuppyTruffles.  I used some shiny red and green craft paper, but wasn’t entirely with how it looked in the end.

2014-11-26 23.00.18-1

The pattern is good, and my origami is good, but the paper makes it look… maybe tacky is the word?  Also, I wasn’t entirely pleased with the folding back of the centre.  That was an optional part of the pattern, so I decided to make another one from proper paper without that fold.  Then, while looking through my origami paper I couldn’t decide between a shiny duo, or black and white.  So I made both.  Naturally.

2014-11-26 23.00.14

2014-11-26 23.00.40

Next up was a return to JoNakashima to make a little 3d star decoration called a Froebel Star.

2014-11-27 18.42.56

Was a little tricky, but I like it 🙂

Then I tried another one from that channel, to make a little alien.  This is when I realised that I really had to sort the patterns/videos I’d downloaded into skill levels.  I managed the alien, eventually…

2014-11-27 18.43.21

…but it took me five times as long as in the video.  I had to keep stopping and unfolding and rewinding and refolding.  So after that, I went through all the videos I had and sorted out which ones I think I can do, and which ones I think need to wait until I’m a little better.

While I was sorting those videos, I couldn’t watch a tutorial, so I worked on something different, but still origami related.  Sort of.

Last Christmas, my sister got me this kit.

2014-11-27 19.34.31

So, next up is a Diamond star from the EZOrigami Youtube channel.  His videos can be quite long, because he goes through things nice and slowly and shows you every single step very carefully.  However, if you’re a beginner like me, that’s a good think.  I, of course, had to do rainbow.

2014-12-01 10.12.37

It felt a little loose, so I took it apart a little and glued the pieces in places. and now it hangs on my shelf 🙂

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Origami Continues

  1. Fluency says:

    The rainbow origami is so beautiful! I also love the santa one, now all he needs is a rudolph origami 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Origami Continues | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  3. Pingback: The Origami Continues | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

