Follow Friday

On alternate Fridays I’m going to write about a website that I love, and why I love it, and other general rave review-ness.

For this week’s Follow Friday I’m combining with completing an item on my bucket list. I have on the list to “donate 10,000 grains of rice”. This refers to the website FreeRice.com which is an absolutely genius site.

1

Users play quizzes, picked from a variety of subjects…

2

…and for each question they get right, 10 grains of rice are donated to the United Nations World Food Programme, which distributes food to hungry nations.

3

There are very neat graphics of the bowl of rice filling up.

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

The site is sponsored by advertisers, who pay for the rice. And playing the games gives you a great sense of accomplishment. You feel like you are doing good and learning at the same time, which of course you are!

You can play without logging in, but if you do sign up, you get to keep a record of how many grains of rice you have donated…

14

…how your total breaks down over all the time you have been playing…

15

…and how many grains you’ve earned per subject (although they have an error there at the top of the left-most column).

16

As you can tell, my favourite subject is English Vocabulary. I’m fairly good at that, and fairly rubbish at everything else.

17

When I reached my 10,000 grains of rice goal, I was very pleased with myself. But also curious. How much was 10,000 grains? Was it a decent amount. So I checked out the FAQ and found this.

18

Time for a simple bit of math. If there are 48 grains of rice per gram, and each person gets 400g per day, that’s 19,200 grains of rice per person per day. All of a sudden my 10,000 feels kinda pitiful. It helps, but not a lot.

So FreeRice.com is going back on the bucket list. This time I aim to donate 100,000. Or maybe 134,000 – that’s not a nice round number, but it is 19,200 x 7 and I would have fed a person for a whole week.

And after that I’ll keep on going.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Nerdiness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Follow Friday

  1. Pingback: 10 Things I Love Beginning With The Letter F | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  2. Pingback: Bucket List Progress | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

