Christmas Traditions – the Second

The other night my sister and I partook in another Christmas tradition I have.  She’s 17 now, and ever since she was three or four we’ve made paper chains together every year.  We sat in the lounge, under the light of the Christmas tree, with two of her friends, and a big bowl of popcorn.  The brilliant Christmas movie Elf was playing on my laptop, and we made paper chains.

(pictures)

Michaela can get very strict about the pattern of chains.  So when I finished mine, I couldn’t start a new one until she’d finished her pattern.  So I taped together some strips and started making another Froebel star.  As I started I realised that I’d not made one with a single sided strip of paper before.  Every other one I’ve made has had the back and the front of the strip the same.  But I like how it turned out.

(pictures)

After that, Michaela started making lucky stars with some of the links.  Michaela (and her friend Amie) both learned to make these stars only a few days ago, and they have trouble with both the initial knot and the poofing out.  So we had a little chain gang going.  They would tape two paper chain strips together (for length), I would put the starting knot in, they would fold and tuck, and then I would poof.

We ended up with a nice little pile of slightly odd shaped stars.  At first I was going to string them into ornaments, but then we decided we should make a garland out of them.

Later on in the evening, after Michaela and her friends had gotten bored and I had retreated to my room, I was watching the Royal Variety Performance (which is another of my Christmas traditions) and wrapping a couple of Christmas presents.  I had a scrap of paper left over, and it was quite sturdy paper so I thought I’d make another star or two for the garland.

After those, I decided that a garland needs lots of stars, so I got out my tin of wrapping paper leftovers and looked through for some more I could use.  And then I made some more stars.

Have I mentioned how addictive these things are?  I ended up with 68 stars of varying sizes and patterns.  Strung up they look really cool 🙂

 

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft, Friends & Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Traditions – the Second

  1. Pingback: Oops | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

