More Hama Fun

On alternate Fridays I’m going to show you all what I’ve been making with my Hama beads.

Well, first off I have an apology to make.  I managed to make two of my recent pieces without taking photos.  I’m planning on moving sometime soon, and I’ve been gradually packing up a few pieces here and there, and I assumed I’d already taken photos of these particular pieces.

At some point in the near future you’ll see a very late picture of a rainbow circle I made to test out a new circular peg board, and the first in a series of kitty coasters.

Moving on from that, I’ve been really busy with the Hama recently.  It’s a new hobby, and we all know how I react to those.  This one has been especially addictive because my youngest sister Michaela – who is notoriously hobbyless – has been enjoying doing them too.  So we do them together, and I love spending time with her alone, when she acts like a decent human being.

She’s pretty good at Hama too.  Her first piece was reasonably ambitious.

2015-01-19 14.24.43

And then she’s just been going and going and going.

2015-01-19 14.24.15

And she asked me to help set her up with own bits.  Which is huge!  She’s 17, and when you ask her what her hobbies are her face goes blank.  It’s wonderful that she’s found something she wants to invest in and keep doing.  And it’s even more wonderful that it’s something that we both enjoy and can do together.

First up, I made a door sign for me, testing an alphabet font, and creating a sample for a customisable selling thing.

2015-01-19 14.25.05

I also started to make a range of mini Disney princesses for me from this picture…

2014-11-03 02.00.47

I started off with Ariel, since I had all the right colours.

2015-01-19 14.27.56

Except that I decided there weren’t enough princesses, so I went looking for more and found a different series with a LOT of princesses.  So that particular Ariel is redundant, but I made the new one…

2015-01-19 14.31.29

…and another couple of princesses.

2015-01-19 14.31.23

2015-01-19 14.31.17

I also started thinking about Valentine’s Day.  As much as I loathe the day (when I’m single anyway), I have a suspicion that my store will be ready to open a week or so before V-Day, so I wanted to have some seasonal stock.  I made a couple of hearts…

2015-01-19 14.28.47

2015-01-19 14.28.36

2015-01-19 14.28.58

For me, although I’ll probably post it on the store, I made a little cute penguin thing…

2015-01-19 14.29.09

And a practice Christmas pudding – I should be making some of these in time for Christmas…

2015-01-19 14.29.16

I attempted to make a bowl too.  I figured that if I did a round piece, and when it was really hot I curved it over a bowl instead of putting it flat under books it’d make a cute bowl.  It didn’t really turn out right.

2015-01-19 14.28.24

But you live and learn 🙂

 

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Hama Fun

  1. Pingback: More Hama Fun | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  2. Pingback: More Hama Fun | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

