Zentangling on Canvas

I’ve seen around the internet quite a few beautiful pieces of Zentangle on canvases, and I wanted to do one so much that I added “Zentangle a canvas” to my Bucket List (#248).

And I finally got around to doing it.

2015-02-20 16.37.37

Isn’t it pretty?

I like it, except that I have a few quibbles with it.  Firstly, I shouldn’t have drawn the outline in pencil first.

2015-02-20 16.37.43

Also, I’d meant to combine it with item #188 on the Bucket List: “Make a time lapse video of one of my art pieces”, except that I forgot.  So I determined to make a second Zentangled canvas at some point in the future.

Then, in a twist of wonderful fate, a swap partner sent me two canvases in a package crammed pack of crafty bits and pieces!  So I made a plan.  I put two pieces of tape on my desk, so I could position the piece in the same place for every photo.

2015-02-25 16.12.07

And I tested all my pens on the edge of the back…

2015-03-07 19.23.50

…I draw out my string…

2015-02-25 16.18.12

…and I got started.

2015-02-25 16.22.49

Which is when I encountered a problem.  Without something solid beneath the fabric of the canvas, it’s hard to get a decent line.  Not solid enough, and over the tiny bumps it’s hard to get a straight line.

2015-02-25 16.22.54

So now I’m not sure what to do.  I could use the pen I used for the first piece, but it’s far too thick to do detail.  Do I need different pens?  Or a different canvas?  I have absolutely no idea right now!  But I’m working on it.

I’ll keep you posted.

 

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Zentangle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

