Adventures in Beading

On alternate Wednesdays (yes, I know it’s not Wednesday.  Shush!) I’m going to be keeping you all up to date with my lessons and stuff with beading. 

Having fully stocked my store, I’ve decided I’m going back to basics.  I still have to learn the various stitches to make proper beadwork pictures and things.  Starting with Peyote stitch.

According to this website I’ve been learning from, the term comes from Native American cultures.  There are three types to learn on that page.  Flat Even Count, Flat Odd Count and Circular Flat.  So I started at the beginning.

Made a stop bead.  Easy.

And the instructions for figuring out Flat Even Count were pretty simple.  I got that quite quickly.  As you can see with my yarn and pony beads version:

2015-03-02 12.44.09

What I couldn’t figure out from the instructions on that site was the finishing off.  So I went to YouTube.  (I love YouTube.)  At which point I realised that it was essentially a case of weaving in the thread until it was secure.

So, Flat Even mastered.  To move on to Flat Odd, or to make something in Flat Even?

I went for making something in Flat Even – I decided a nice cuff in purples would be good.  So off I went.  I realised with a bit of a “duh” moment that it’s called Flat EVEN because the number of beads in your initial row is an even number.

I also realised whilst working that it’s better to pull your thread taut after every bead, or every few beads, rather than at the end of a row.  Especially if you’re doing a long row.  The thread won’t pull through otherwise.

And once I’d finished my few rows, I realised that when weaving your thread through to secure it, you shouldn’t pull too tight because it’ll warp the shape of your piece.

I DID have a nice straight line to make a cuff.  Now I have a wave.

2015-03-02 12.44.33

Oh well, that’s what learning is all about 🙂

Next question – do I work on improving my Flat Even skills, including learning to follow a pattern, or do I move on?

Well, I think that question is fairly obvious.  I needed to follow a pattern.  A quick google search lead me to this website, which had a nice diagonally striped pattern to do.

askannaaugust

I figured out the pattern reading quite quickly, but I wasn’t entirely happy with my results.

2015-03-09 15.13.10

I decided it must be the pony beads, and that I was ready to work with the seed beads you generally use for what I have learned is called “bead weaving”.  I dug out my seed beads, and some thread stuff that goes through them.  And I just kinda got in a mess.  The beads wouldn’t line up right.

2015-03-09 15.13.26

So I figured maybe I’d gone too small.  Maybe it’d word a bit better with a 4mm bead?

2015-03-09 15.12.58

Nope!

So I went back to pony beads for a bit.  I’d found this picture online a while ago…

EasterEgss1

…and I decided I was going to have a go at the one on the bottom left.  The local bead store runs a contest that doesn’t seem to get a lot of entrants and the theme for the next one is “easter egg”.

I pinpointed the base rows and threaded them up…

2015-03-09 15.12.46

…and then realised that I didn’t actually know how to shape.  Right, so I’ll square it off.  Give it a background.  Simple.  I just needed some pattern paper.  Fairly sure I wouldn’t be able to draw one out, I did a google image search and came up with this.

2015-03-08 21.26.58

Which I uploaded to the doodle app on my ipad and drew a crude pattern on.

2015-03-08 21.30.53

And off I went.  Complete with a tip I found for keeping the base steady, I managed to get half of it done before I got tired and went to bed.

2015-03-08 22.18.11

It looks pretty good for a beginner piece 🙂

 

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adventures in Beading

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Beading | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

