Clay Away

When I first moved in to this residential hostel place, I did something I always do.  I walked around and read every single poster on every single notice board.  On one of them, I found this:

2015-05-23 14.22.52

Which, naturally, completely intrigued me!  I asked a staff member if it was still happening, because a lot of the posters I found seemed to be out of date.  They said they weren’t sure.

There then followed two weeks of everyone having a different answer.  Which was fun.  But then I was told that the Clay Away guy would definitely be coming on May 13th.  Yay!  I even found out that we don’t have to pay for it.  Extra yay!

Come the evening of the 13th, suddenly people weren’t sure if it was happening because it wasn’t written in the diary.  So by 6.45 people were very very confused.  But then he appeared!

The Clay Away guy (Will) arrived and oh my goodness!  So much craft!

He had clay to play with, he had all kinds of ceramics to paint, he had beading things, he had tote bags to paint, he had a book of ideas, he had acrylic paints… so many crafts!  So many things I wanted to do all at once!

I started off with something I’ve been wanting to do for a while.

2015-05-16 12.07.05

2015-05-16 12.07.10

He wasn’t entirely sure if the pens were proper fabric pens though, so I ironed it to set it just in case, then washed it.  I want to do things like that for my store, but figure they should be washable.  Unfortunately these weren’t 😦

But I had fun nonetheless, and I have photos.  After that I moved on to some beading, mostly to root through his box of goodies, and I found some things that I definitely need.  Like these:

2015-05-17 16.14.03

Obviously I added the design to that.  But aren’t they genius?!  I need to get some!  And maybe some premade necklace cords…

2015-05-16 12.05.40

He also had some really cute little Tree of Life pendants, which I also need some of…

2015-05-16 12.06.01

By this point we were running out of time, he’s only booked for 90 minutes!  But he was booked for the following four weeks, so lots of people were “reserving” things to work on.  I picked a round tile, and decided to venture into the world of paints.  I’m not as steady with paintbrushes, but I did an outline anyway.

2015-05-13 21.12.28

I planned to attempt tangling it the following week.  I also managed to reserve myself one of these cute little dragons.

2015-05-16 12.06.14

I have no idea what I’m going to do to him – I should paint him, but I’m sooo not good at that, and I’d ruin it.  We’ll see I guess.

The lovely man left me with a paintbrush and some paint so I could practice – the paint was just going to be thrown away anyway since he portions some out onto plates at the start of the evening.

2015-05-13 21.12.03

They started off neater than that – that picture was taken after my experimenting.

2015-05-13 21.12.22

2015-05-13 21.12.19

2015-05-13 21.12.15

After that I grabbed a canvas from the small stash I’ve been building and got painting.  With no particular plan in mind.  Just painting.

2015-05-13 21.11.57

I don’t think it’s finished, but I don’t know what to do with it now.

The second week I was sick.  Which really sucked.  Especially when I completely forgot about it, and stumbled out for a drink and walked right into it.  Whilst looking horrendous.

But I survived and made it to the third session.  And I knew what I was going to be doing.  Way back in the first week, Will showed me a book of ideas, and there was a beautiful candle holder made from clay that I thought I could do.  So on the third session I sat down with a big lump of clay… and just fiddled around for a while having fun and getting used to the material.  Eventually I got down to work though and made this…

2015-05-27 20.47.29

It needed to air dry and then the plan for the 4th week was to sand it down a little and paint it.

After my candle holder I moved on to painting one of these:

Will has tons and tons of different types of little white ceramics just waiting to be painted, and I loved this little gecko.  Will painted one whilst I was doing my candle holder and he’s so good!

I am not good.  I have real trouble with paint, as mentioned, but I had a go.  I sponged a base on, then tried to mimic what Will had done.  I failed.  I rebased him a few times, but eventually – with a little bit of prompting – had something I wasn’t entirely disappointed with.

2015-05-27 20.43.09

He actually looks a lot better in that picture than in real life.  But like everything, you have to practice to get better.  So expect more!

 

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clay Away

  1. blogitwoman says:

    Loved the tote bag! Great idea.

  2. Pingback: Clay Away Has Gone Away | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

