Lucky Stars Update

As mentioned in my recent Bucket List Progress post, I mentioned the Lucky Stars I’ve been making.  I was sure I was close to having made 1000, but they were all in various places while I’d been moving around.

Well, since I’ve now unpacked and sorted most of my stuff, I’ve been able to collect them all up.

2015-09-07 17.33.09

Lots and lots of stars.  There are 825 of them.  Not quite 1000.

I’ve actually increased my planned total.  See, I’ve been thinking about what to do with them once I’ve finished.  Initially I was going to have a jar of each colour in a nice row.  But then I thought about demijohns.  I have one of these…

0022556_m

…that I collect my spare change in.  It’s a 4.5L glass jar.  I think they use them for wine making or something.  But I wondered if 1000 stars would fit in one.  It would look lovely, in rainbow layers of course.  So, I took out my change, and I put in my stars.  And more stars and more stars until the jar was full.

And then I took them all out again and counted how many had fit in there.  900.  How very frustrating.  I REALLY liked the idea.  So many two jars?  Right, in that case I’d need 1800 stars.

Okay!  New total.  1800 stars, 7 colours.  Fractional number.  Round off.  255 of each colour is 1785 stars.  One extra maybe, and then I have two pretty jars.

Excuse the rambling.  I do that a lot.  The general upshot is that whilst I have over 800 stars and am very near my 1000 star total for completing the Bucket List item, I’m only about halfway through for my design feature project.

Lots more stars to make.  Just as well I enjoy it 🙂

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lucky Stars Update

  1. Pingback: 1000 Lucky Stars | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

