52 Things in a Jar

An update on my Yearly Challenge to fit exactly 52 things in a jar.

Thing 36 is a screw.

2015-09-06 14.46.21

I’d like to say that it represents an innuendo, but unfortunately not.  It represents the chaos I’ve been having trying to install shelves and curtains and such in my new flat.  To begin with, I had access to my mother’s screwdriver/drill thing, but her set of drill bits had gone awol.  A friend of hers had borrowed them and we were having trouble getting them back.  I waited a few weeks for that, and then decided that since I’d planned on getting my own screwdriver/drill thing anyway at some point in the future, I could get my own drill bit set now.

When that finally arrived, I went to get started.  Only to find out that all the walls in here are made of flipping paper.  I’m exaggerating a little of course.  They’re plasterboard.  But I’ve got none of the right tools for plasterboard.  And I had no idea where to start!  I ended up on YouTube watching a very nice young fellow with an Irish accent explain all the different types of screws and wall plugs.

Things are progressing a little bit better on that front now.  I have the right wall plugs, so I finally have bathroom shelves.  Still waiting on curtains though.

On to Thing 37.  On September 10th, as I blogged, my youngest sister turned 18.  Which is just flipping scary.  Thing 37 is the remains of one of the balloons she had at her birthday party.

2015-09-18 15.24.59

And Thing 38 is a leaflet from the gym where I go swimming.  I’m loving that pool, and I’m loving the swimming 🙂

2015-09-19 13.28.50

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Yearly Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

