Blog On Win + Adorable Toys

Last Friday evening my sister sent me a message.  She’s the weekend manager at Winchester Science Centre, and she’d been helping set up a blogger conference.  She mentioned me to the organisers and they invited me along.  So, with around 12 hours notice, I found myself at Blog On Win.

The Blog On conferences are run by Laura Seaton, and there are currently three nationally.  Blog On Win (for Winchester) was my first ever blogging conference and I really wasn’t sure what to expect, other than 70 odd strangers.  Luckily, with the 12 hours notice, I didn’t have enough time to get myself worked up and nervous about it.

It was a really good day.  I met lots of interesting new people, and now I feel a part of the “blogging community”.  There were a few seminars too, and I learned quite a lot.  I came away with lots and lots of ideas for this blog, and for the one I plan to start for my store in the coming months.  Not to mention the photography ideas – but I’m writing a whole other post for that.

As well as useful contacts and information, there were also various brands there advertising their wares, and running contests.  The first one I entered involved tweeting a picture of me with a Ziga, from Re:creation Ltd.

2015-10-03 10.03.39

The little things are adorable, and they make a funny little giggle when you squeeze them.  Re:creation have a whole lot of really cute and clever toys.  I’m gonna have to be careful or I’ll spend too much money with them.

There was another selfie opportunity too.  Take a “Selfie with your Zelfie”:

2015-10-03 12.54.09

The Zelfs are utterly adorable!  “When the twilight moon is in the sky, the Zelfs appear in a secret garden called Zardenia where they share their special powers.”  They’re animal elf type things.  Taking and sharing your Zelfie selfie got you a free limited edition.

2015-10-07 19.16.34

Snowphie is a white tiger Zelf, and he is a “rarity amongst Zardenia with mighty stripes so stark, his magnificence stays in the shadows of dark”.  His Zelf power is fairness, and his birthday is International Tiger Day on July 29th.  I want to play with him, but I don’t want to take him out of his packaging either.  I might have to get more Zelfs.

Aside from the adorable toys, it was a very good day.  There were a LOT of people in a very small space, but I found myself a little bolt hole when I was overwhelmed.  I had a really good time, I’m glad I went, I’m insanely grateful to my sister and to Blog On for letting me attend, and I plan on finding more blogger conferences to attend.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog On Win + Adorable Toys

  1. Pingback: Developing a Photography Style | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  2. Pingback: 52 Things in a Jar | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

