UK Games Expo – Plans For Next Year

One of the things I tend to scrawl in my notebook when I travel, is notes for next time.  And there will DEFINITELY be a next time for UKGE.  I think that as long as they run it, there will always be a next time.

I’ve already booked my hotel.  Within minutes of them posting on Twitter that the booking was open.  It helps that you don’t have to pay until you arrive.  I’m going for even longer next time.  My first year I just went for the day.  This year I went Fri-Sun.  And next year I’m going on the Thursday and staying til Monday.  Give it a few years and I’ll be moving in 🙂

I just want more time to enjoy it.  There’s gaming spaces open on the Thursday night, for people who bring their own games.  I won’t be taking any games, but hopefully I’ll have the guts to approach someone.  And I want to use the pool too.  So, a longer trip.  Not cheap, especially not at a Hilton, even with convention rates.  But I don’t mind.  It’s worth it, to me at least.

And, because I’m me, I already have pages of planning.  I need to make more nerdy clothes – vests!  Vests with slogans on, not t-shirts.  Too hot for t-shirts.  It completely baffles me how people can go in Stormtrooper costumes or other full, bulky cosplays.

I’m going to be working on a Scavenger Hunt list, sort of like the Convention Bingo I’ve been doing.  I don’t know if I’ve blogged about that, but I’m going to sometime soon.  Maybe.  It did take me 5 months to write about this year’s Expo.

Ooo, I have to remember not to wait until the cosplay parade to take photos.  Velma and Shaggy and co weren’t there on the Sunday, and I’m fairly sure that some people who cosplay only go for one day.  I find it difficult to ask strangers if I can take pictures of them, but they are used to it.  I need to practice more.  And maybe get more pictures of me.

 

 

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Nerdiness, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

