Word a Day Writing

Last year I bought a “Word A Day” desk calendar in a charity shop, and although I’m not doing them daily, I’m using them as prompts to freewrite a short passage.  These are the ones I’ve done this month.

Day 111: Snickersnee (noun). Large knife, cutlass; knife fight.

It was excruciating to watch, but I couldn’t look away. All of this was happening because of me – the least I could do was watch them fight, watch them bleed. I just prayed that I wouldn’t have to watch them die. It was loud, and bloody, and horrific but I would watch every moment of it.

Day 112: Pelf (noun). Money, wealth (obtained often by illegal means).

It would all go away. Everything I had worked for. The house, the private schools, the clothes. If we went into Witness Protection, we’d lose all that. But if we didn’t… what was a luxurious lifestyle worth?

Day 113: Nullipara (noun). A woman who has never given birth to a child.

At some point they’d stop asking. Maybe when I hit menopause. No, I don’t have kids. No, I don’t want kids. No, I’m not lazy. No, I don’t want to listen to you tell me why kids are the best thing ever.

Day 114: Paean (noun). Song or shout of praise.

The church was not like the one at home. In my Catholic church, you were hushed. Speak in more than a whisper and you were admonished. Here it was loud! Everyone sang and yelled. Worship here was a joyous cacophanie.

Day 115: Jockerie (noun). Trickery or the act of swindling.

He had never earned a single dollar honestly. Even as a boy he earned pocket money as a lookout for his parents. He had earned many dollar. Many millions. But now, from nowhere, a conscience had appeared.

Day 116: Ephetic (adj). Skeptical, dubious.

He was the believer, and I was the voice of reason. He was so eager to accept the weird and the supernatural, that he was almost gullible. Without me he’d have invested every penny he had in a werewolf breeding program.

Day 117: Bloviate (vb). To speak at length in a pompous manner.

They were a perfect couple. I’d never heard more than a dozen words total from Rachel, but Ashley never shut up. He always had a topic to mind to rant and lecture on. To bore, really. He spoke a big game, but didn’t actually know a lot.

Day 118: Ort (noun). Leftovers, dinner scraps.

My favourite day of the week was Sunday. On Sundays we had “leftover buffet”. Mum would cook up all the food left in the fridge and we’d eat a strange assortment of foods, all in one meal.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

