52 Things in a Jar

An update on my Yearly Challenge to fit exactly 52 things in a jar.

Thing 45 represents a lot of work I did to create stock for two Christmas fairs I’m doing this year.  I made a whole bunch of origami Santas.  Here’s a different pattern that i deemed too difficult for mass production.

2015-11-11 14.57.14

You’ll see more about the origami Santas, and about the Christmas fairs, in a while.

Thing 46 represents the final big bit I needed to get my little flat sorted.  I finally have a cooker!  When I first moved in, it wasn’t a massive priority because I had a microwave, mini grill, slowcooker, kettle and toaster.  I was able to keep myself fed with proper food, but I really missed having a cooker.  Finally though I was in a position to get one.  Thing 46 is a piece of the polystyrene packaging.

2015-11-14 01.20.14

Within ten minutes of the installation, I was making gingerbread.  Gingerbread is one of my favourite recipes.  I’ve done it a dozen times.  This time however, I put in too much baking powder and bicarb.  I knew it would overflow, so I put the tin in a bigger tin to catch the overflow.  Unfortunately it overflowed from the overflow tin and within an hour of having a working cooker I had gingerbread batter all over it!  Typical me really.

(I retried the gingerbread a few days later and it was delicious, as ever.)

Thing 47 is a little bit of a stretch, but bear with me.  As you know, I’ve been trying to make each Thing represent the week.  The biggest thing that happened to me in week 47 was running into an old friend on the bus.  We reconnected and have starting hanging out again.  Thing 47 is a bit from a box of eggs she picked up for me on her way over to visit.  As I said, it’s a bit of stretch, but it works.

2015-11-26 12.03.59

Thing 48 represents the first of the two Christmas fairs I mentioned.  I bought some badge clips to stick on to some of my Hama pieces.  I glued one onto a reindeer to wear at the fair.

2015-12-04 18.37.01

Unfortunately I hadn’t taken into account that putting the badge there made him top-heavy.  He kept twisting around to hang upside down!  So he goes in the jar, and I’ll make another one and stick the badge in the right place.

Week 49 is the first week of December, which means Christmas!!  I’ve had my presents sorted and wrapped for ages, but the rest of the world has just realised that Christmas is only a few weeks away and have started sorting themselves out.  This means, in the case of at least two people, that I get more presents to wrap.  I have one friend who always lets me wrap his presents – mostly because he’d be happy to deliver them in carrier bags otherwise.  The other person is my mum.  (I don’t wrap her presents for me though).  Thing 49 is some leftover ribbon from a hamper I had to decorate for her.

2015-12-03 13.05.15

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Cookery, Craft, Friends & Family, Yearly Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

