I Entered a Contest!

A few months ago I found a link somewhere or other for a competition run by Paperchase to design a Christmas card.  Paperchase is one of my most favouritist stores ever!  It’s a stationery store and I am capable of spending waayyyy too much money in there – so the “£200 and some super smashing Paperchase goodies” was a definite incentive to enter.  Not to mention the idea of having one of my designs produced and sold.

So I read the requirements, did a double take at the deadline (1 week before Christmas), and got to doodling.

2015-12-15 21.06.23

I’d known what I wanted to do as soon as I read that the theme was “trees”.  I just couldn’t decide which one to use.  I picked one eventually and took it to my mum’s to use the scanner.

tewfr

FAIL!  It came out horrible.  Where was the bright colour?

I attacked it with Photoshop and made a bit of an improvement.

2015-12-18 10.37.30

But I still wasn’t happy.  So I kept fiddling with Photoshop and finally found something magical.

Christmas Tree - Colette Horsburgh

And then I discovered the hues option and had a whale of a time!!

2015-12-18 10b

And I just couldn’t stop.

2015-12-18 10e

2015-12-18 10c

At which point I encountered a dilemma.  My original tree?  Or a Warhol-type version?

Warhol Christmas Trees - Colette Horsburgh

I couldn’t find anything in the rules about entering more than one design, so I went with both 🙂  The contest page didn’t say anything about when we’d hear results, so I guess I’ll just forget about it.  But I have my fingers crossed 🙂

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft, Zentangle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

