Caramel Success

One of the things I’ve always wanted to try was to make caramel.  In fact, it’s on my Bucket List.  And, inspired by my Bucket List Bonanza challenge this year, I finally got around to it.

First I found myself a recipe.  I used this one from CompletelyDelicious.com.  Annalise describes two methods: a wet method which uses sugar and water, and a dry method which just uses sugar.  I chose to go with the wet method and so began with a pan of sugar and water (please excuse my mucky cooker)…

And I set it to boil.  It took a hell of a lot of time, and the temptation to stir is very strong, but I managed…

163nhp

Eventually I had that delicious bubbling brown caramel that you’re supposed to get.  Although looking back at the recipe page now, her caramel is a lot darker.

At this stage I had to decide what to do with it.  I splattered some on greaseproof paper, which was fun.  And also very dangerous.

And then I stirred some nuts and marshmallows into the pan.

When it was combined I spread it onto the greaseproof paper, which was not as easy as it sounds.  It is very gooey, and hot, and sticky.  It looked and smelled delicious, but was very very hot!

While I waited for it to set I chewed away at the warm and gooey caramel that was stuck to the wooden spoon.  VERY tasty.

Once it was solid I took to it with something blunt to shatter it into tasty tasty pieces.

That was fun.  And now I have a jar of tasty caramel shards.

Actually, I HAD a jar of tasty caramel shards.  I made that way back in January – I’ve only just gotten around to blogging about it.  The caramel lasts quite a while though.

Next up on the agenda is to try making a caramel sauce, as described by Annalise in the Completely Delicious recipe.  Hopefully it won’t take me five months to tell you about it.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Cookery, Yearly Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caramel Success

  1. Pingback: Bucket List Bonanza Update | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

  2. Pingback: Bucket List Bonanza Round Up | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

