Why Do You Blog?

I have in my notebook a list of blog ideas, that I’m slowly working through.  One of those ideas is “Why Do You Blog?”

I have to admit that I initially started by copying my friend.  She started a blog, so I started a blog.  Since then though, her blog fell to the wayside (quite quickly actually), and mine continued.  and continued, and continued.  That was in November 2008.  7 years and 8 months ago.  1450 posts.  That’s quite a lot.  I haven’t been the most consistent.  There are lots of times that I settled on a schedule that eventually got forgotten.  There are lots of times that I went weeks or months without posting.

But why do I do it?  The biggest reason is because I love to type.  I love the sensation of my fingers flying across the keyboard, and the gentle pressure of the keys.  You may have noticed I’m a wee bit of a rambler too.  That’s probably inspired by the fun of typing.  But mostly I have a long and rambling train of thought.

I’d like to say I have a message I want to get out into the world, but that’s probably not true.  It’s more that I have thoughts that I want to get out of my head.  As a kid I kept diaries, and blogging is quite a bit like that for me.  I don’t have a readership of thousands, so as far as my brain is concerned these thoughts go out into the ether and float around endlessly.  I know that I do have one or two readers – maybe not regular ones, but readers nonetheless.  It’s always nice when I get a like or a comment.  It makes me feel a little more connected to the world.

My final reason for blogging is accountability.  You might have noticed that I set myself challenges.  For several years now I’ve set myself a Yearly Challenge or two (or multiple).  And I find that blogging about it means that I have someone keeping a watch to make sure I don’t cheat.

Of course, there are hundreds of little tiny reasons why I write each blog post, but those are the main ones I guess.

What about you?  Do you blog?  Why do you blog?  Do you read my blog?  Why do you keep coming back?

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

