Bucket List Bonanza – Crochet Diagram

If you recall way way way back at the start of the year I said I was going to check 52 things off my Bucket List this year.  At some point a little later in the year I decided that 52 things wasn’t going to happen and so I was just going to aim for a “bunch”.

Well now, with only a couple of weeks left in the year, I have a few things that I’ve completed, but haven’t blogged about yet. So expect a few Bucket List posts in the next week or so.

#400 on my Bucket List, all the way at the bottom, is “learn to crochet from a diagram”.  I’ve never been able to do this.  They look pretty, but so damn confusing.  I mean, look at this…

Image result for crochet diagram pattern

Looking at it without knowing what any of it means is mindboggling, but then I guess a written pattern is kinda the same.  It’s all about knowing what everything means.

I’ve had this picture in my ideas folder for a while now…

..and I decided that would be a good way to get started.  Something relatively small.  So I looked for a tutorial and found this page on Craftsy, which came with a handy chart.

symbols-directions-chart-bmp

After that it became a LOT simpler, and I managed to create this thing:

Having mastered that particular skill though, I might stick with written patterns.

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft, Yearly Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bucket List Bonanza – Crochet Diagram

  1. Pingback: Bucket List Bonanza Round Up | Random Ramblings of Celeena Cree

Leave a Reply

