Stash Busting Round Up

One of my other goals for 2016 was to bust my yarn stash a little bit.  Although I can classify the WIP busting challenge as a success, this one is not so much a bust as a small dent.

I started the year with 275 balls of yarn and I planned to use 50% by the end of the year, and have a smaller number at the end of each month.

In December I used 2 balls of yarn, but then I decided it’d be a good idea to make a scarf using a swatch of every colour of Stylecraft Special DK Yarn, so I added 5 balls.  I’m not counting all the balls I got for Christmas.

Starting stash # – 275

Stash # at the end of November – 206

# added to stash in December – 5

# of stash used in December – 2

Stash # at the end of December – 209

209 is definitely NOT 50% of 275, so overall the challenge was a failure.  As for the having a smaller number at the end of each month.. I managed that in January, February and March.  I went up a little in April, down in May, up in June, down every month from July to November and then back up in December.  Down more months than up, I guess that’s a little bit of a win.

It was a silly idea to bust stash anyway.  The more the merrier!!

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Craft, Yearly Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

