Dice

I have a bit of an obsessive personality.  Once I get interested in something I get VERY interested in it.  When I learn a new origami pattern I do it over and over again.  When I learn a new craft I buy ALL the bits and pieces.  When I start collecting something I collect a lot of them.

Way back in 2013 when I first started tabletop gaming, a collection of dice was kind of inevitable.  I had the usual few that everyone has floating around, 2 sets of polyhedral gaming dice from my uni days, and during a charity shop hunt I found a really cool box…

 

Then I went to my first UK Games Expo and picked up a bunch more – they had a stall where you could scoop up a mug full of random dice.  That boosted my collection a little.

Recently the Timehop app showed me this picture from years ago…

…and I realised how far my collection has come in that time.  That was before my first UKGE in 2014.  Here’s the mug of dice I bought then…

…and some special ones I bought then….

And then I went back to UKGE in 2015 and got some more…

And then this year I got a little carried away perhaps.

2016-06-03 15.15.14

(I do have to clarify that the very large amount of small rainbow 6-sided die aren’t technically for my collection.  They’re for making jewellery and keyrings and other wonderful crafty things.

I found some adorable teeny tiny ones at a different stall.

2016-07-22 16.09.20

And I may have spent some money on The Dice Shop online just after UKGE too..

2016-07-22 16.10.12

PicMonkey Collage

I’ve taken a big bunch out of the collection for crafting purposes…

2016-07-30 10.46.47

So where does my collection stand now?  Here’s that before picture again…

And here it is now…

And that doesn’t include a wooden decorative one I got at a craft fair…

2016-07-22 15.56.07

 

…or a pencil sharpener that my best friend Cayden got me.

2016-07-22 15.56.34

Or a set of six wooden D6s I found in a box, or the amazing alligator jawbone one my friend Sam got me recently…

2017-04-06 03.48.40

.. or the Luma Dice from a Kickstarter that have arrived…

2017-04-06 03.48.02

…or the Fibonacci dice from another Kickstarter that have arrived…

2017-04-03 07.15.54

…or the several Kickstarters that haven’t arrived yet: Super Heavy D30 and The Dragon Tray dice.

So yeah, perhaps a wee bit obsessive 🙂

About Colette Horsburgh

A 30-something creator/baker/writer/doodler/crafter living with several (but not enough) scatty animals.
This entry was posted in Nerdiness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

